St. John’s To Compete in New BIG EAST

The NCAA’s BIG EAST Conference will keep the name “BIG EAST,” but it will have the feel of a new conference heading into the fall sports season.

Effective July 1, operations of the BIG EAST officially commenced. St. John’s University, Jamaica, remains in the conference as one of 10 member institutions:

Butler University, Indianapolis

Creighton University, Omaha, Neb.

DePaul University, Chicago

Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

Marquette University, Madison, Wis.

Providence College, R.I.

Seton Hall University, South Orange, N.J.

St. John’s University

Villanova University, Pa.

Xavier University, Cincinnati

Each of these members will be full conference participants and will compete in all of the sports it offers today. For basketball, the annual conference championship will still be held at Madison Square Garden.