The tabernacle that was stolen from St. Augustine Church, Park Slope, was featured in 2013 on the NET-TV series “City of Churches.”
Holy Name of Jesus parish in Windsor Terrace, Brooklyn, was established in 1878 by the first bishop of Brooklyn, John Loughlin. Father Thomas O’Reilly, a native of Ireland, was appointed pastor and the first parish Mass was held in a local stable before a permanent worship site was built.
An early 20th-century building boom in the northwestern corner of Queens led to an urgent need for a church and a school to serve a growing Catholic community of German, Irish and Italian immigrants. The parish of Immaculate Conception in the Ditmars section of Astoria was founded in January of 1924, and Bishop Thomas E. Molloy appointed Father Michael D. Lopez as the pastor.
This is the first in an ongoing series based on the Emmy-Award winning NET-TV’s City of Churches series that profiles houses of worship in the diocese. The program takes an in-depth look at the art and architecture of churches, highlighting the unique history that connects different generations and cultures.