Sports Round-Up Nov. 30

Diocesan baseball icon Mike Piazza – a member of the National Baseball Hall of Fame wearing a New York Mets cap – has agreed to become the manager of the Italian national baseball team. He’ll manage the squad at the European Baseball Championship in 2020 and in the World Baseball Classic in 2021.

The Catholic Youth Organization fall soccer season wrapped up with the following teams taking home diocesan titles:


Subnovice: St. Francis de Sales, Belle Harbor

Pee Wee: Blessed Trinity, Breezy Point

Novice: Our Lady of Grace, Howard Beach

Bantam: Our Lady of Hope, Middle Village

Rookie: St. Anastasia, Douglaston

Intermediate: St. Andrew Avellino, Flushing


Subnovice: Blessed Trinity

Pee Wee: St. Andrew Avellino

Novice: St. Andrew Avellino

Bantam: St. Mel, Flushing

Rookie: St. Anastasia

Intermediate: Blessed Trinity

For the second time in league history, the GCHSAA has released diocesan girls’ varsity All-League teams for its fall sports seasons. Congratulations to the following student-athletes for earning the honor:



Aida Palmer: Bishop Loughlin H.S., Fort Greene
Grace Murphy: Archbishop Molloy H.S., Briarwood
Maya Dorer: St. Joseph H.S., Downtown Brooklyn
Jourdan Garnett: Bishop Loughlin
Madison McDonald: Bishop Loughlin
Cher Mei: Archbishop Molloy
Samarah Bermudez: The Mary Louis Academy, Jamaica Estates
Marina Tsimisiris: Archbishop Molloy
Tara Mansfield: St. Francis Prep, Fresh Meadows
Amber Walters: Archbishop Molloy
Hannah Finnerty: Msgr. McClancy H.S., East Elmhurst
Zara McPartland: The Mary Louis Academy
Gabriela Maldonado: The Mary Louis Academy
Laurah Perrin: Archbishop Molloy



Tier 1

Madelyn Mullen: Xaverian H.S., Bay Ridge

Giana Romano: Xaverian

Taylor Bryan: Xaverian

Jenna Como: Xaverian

Riley Millen: Xaverian

Lara Strumpf: Archbishop Molloy

Madison Teta: Archbishop Molloy

Mikaela Barriga: Archbishop Molloy

Maya Marchan: Christ the King H.S., Middle Village

Jaiden Vara: Christ the King

Tier 2

Elizabeth Dunn: The Mary Louis Academy

Shannon Neiswenter: The Mary Louis Academy

Ellen Meegan: The Mary Louis Academy

Fiona Maloney: The Mary Louis Academy

Eva Powers-Velasques: The Mary Louis Academy

Heather Bollman: Msgr. McClancy

Lauren Lynch: Msgr. McClancy

Mary Misfud: Msgr. McClancy

Courtney Ortiz: St. John’s Prep, Astoria

Stephanie Ramirez: St. John’s Prep

Brianna Alicandro: Fontbonne Hall Academy, Bay Ridge

Tier 3

Kathleen Walker: St. Edmund Prep H.S., Sheepshead Bay

Bridget Leahy: St. Edmund Prep

Molloy Murtagh: St. Saviour H.S., Park Slope

Jessica Joyce: St. Agnes H.S., College Point



Jade Killikelly: The Mary Louis Academy

Karah Augustin: The Mary Louis Academy

Michela Leandri: The Mary Louis Academy

Kaitlyn Mendoza: Archbishop Molloy

Kylie Wong: Archbishop Molloy

Angelina Gargiulo: Fontbonne Hall Academy

Vanessa Minniti: Xaverian




Noelle Carey: The Mary Louis Academy

Maya Burns: The Mary Louis Academy

Kelly Erhard: The Mary Louis Academy

Julianna Acierno: St. Francis Prep

Victoria Freitas: St. Francis Prep

Morgan Thurlow: Xaverian

Erin Dugan: Archbishop Molloy

Grace Butler: Fontbonne Hall Academy

Katie Martinez: St. John’s Prep


Ashley Petrasovic: Msgr. McClancy

Isabella Anzalone: Msgr. McClancy

Julianna Moule: St. Edmund Prep

Jenna Samir: St. Edmund Prep

Yarissa Caresuega: Christ the King

Aleyana Black: Bishop Loughlin


Sophia Ortiz: St. Agnes

Alyssa Gross: St. Agnes

Amanda Brantley: St. Agnes

Zhanna Ayapbergenov: St. Saviour

Elisa Lennon: St. Saviour

Unique Stewart: Cristo Rey Brooklyn H.S., Flatbush

Johanne Pluviose: Nazareth H.S., East Flatbush

Barbara Meriser: St. Joseph