Sports Round-Up March 14

On Feb. 29, the St. Joseph’s College Brooklyn, Clinton Hill, women’s basketball team appeared in the Skyline Conference championship game for the first time in program history. The Bears lost to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, L.I. Junior Kelly O’Donnell (St. Edmund Prep H.S., Sheepshead Bay) was named the conference’s Player of the Year, and junior Deserae Sequeira was recognized on the All-Sportsmanship Team. Head coach Tom Flahive earned this year’s Skyline Coach of the Year.

Orla Egan, a junior on The Mary Louis Academy, Jamaica Estates, varsity swim team, has committed to Duquesne University, Pittsburgh. She was named an All-American after taking home fourth place in the 500-yard freestyle at the New York State Championship meet. She is also a six-time New York Federation Championship finalist and a two-time USA Swimming Scholastic All-American.

In other GCHSAA championship basketball action, the Archbishop Molloy H.S., Briarwood, junior varsity team won the ‘AA’ diocesan title with a victory over Msgr. Scanlan H.S., the Bronx.

In a big upset in the varsity ‘A’ championship, Fontbonne Hall Academy, Bay Ridge, turned in a valiant effort to knock off the regular season champions from St. Joseph H.S., Downtown Brooklyn.

Congratulations to this year’s diocesan GCHSAA basketball coaches of the year:

Junior Varsity AA: Leah Hernandez, Msgr. McClancy H.S., East Elmhurst

Junior Varsity A: Alexandra Jacques, St. Edmund Prep H.S., Sheepshead Bay

Varsity AA: Mike Locasio, St. John’s Prep, Astoria

Varsity A: Mike Toro, St. Joseph H.S., Downtown Brooklyn

Varsity B/C: Frank Carbone, Cristo Rey Brooklyn H.S., Flatbush

St. Francis College, Brooklyn Heights, men’s basketball junior guard Chauncey Hawkins scored his 1,000th career point on March 4 during the Terriers’ Northeast Conference loss to Robert Morris University, Moon Township, Pa. He became the 33rd student-athlete in program history to accomplish the feat.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *